top of page
  • CUTTER

Grateful - A Poem


Two weeks ago I realized that we were only made for display

but my parents told me to be Grateful, for I was born on a Sunday

No thanks I’m full, I say, but they insist on giving me more

They say, you should be Grateful. At your age I never got much on my plate

I tend to lose things by accident, some stolen

and I do take all the blame

but they say I Disrespect them, to replace the item they pay

My siblings have it tough, had a more rough childhood

They say I should be Lucky God gave me self-control

But my self-control has me quiet and hesitant to appeal

It gives me headaches, but I can’t show them I’m Vulnerable

cant show that I'm Weak...

We live in a country that’s corrupt, gives us no true freedom

But I have to Grateful that we have a good house

and my parents have their jobs

2021, I have no friends to talk to in person

But I should be Grateful that that my parents pay wifi

and I'm Guilty as charged, please sue me

But I have no choice, that’s the only way to connect,

You and me...

I think these things and keep them to myself

As punishment for being Selfish

And not being Grateful for people who I should cherish

People whom I don’t share my true thoughts with...


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page