top of page
  • CUTTER

''HIGHSCHOOL DOESN'T MATTER!" - 4

Updated: Aug 17, 2021


I would like to find the person who decided that it would be fun to pick violence by not minding they're own business.


It's hard to believe that there are actually people who go, ''Lets make someone's life difficult and gossip about them.'' People find ease in ruining someone's reputation in a society where the things that people say or think about you immediately create your image and somehow, your worth. As an adolescent, I've experienced trying to grow up and appropriate my behaviour and attitude towards adulthood, because I was, still am, living in a hierarchy system in high-school set up by a desire of being grown or because we feel grown. I mean we cannot lie and say that popularity contests don't exist because they do. like people compete to get a promotion in the work field, we want to be known to be the best in what ever we do at school.

Also, real quick, why do teachers pass down comments about students just because we don't see them do it. I thought respect goes both ways but if you're now spreading opinionated whispers about me, than I don't want to know you. Just the fact that this may be unrelated to school at all just makes it twisted. Because its a teachers word against the student in my case, its pretty personal. You may have an idea or experience to what what I am talking about. Just out of curiosity, leave a comment below.

Below, a teacher is talking about a suicide that took place.





What makes things worse is a broken telephone situation. Think of this way:

you're talking over the phone with the police discussing how your older brother was recently a victim of a house robbery, someone eavesdrops but get the story right and tells everyone in school that you just ratted out your brother for robbing a house. My question would be why would this be your business to share lil' homie. Honestly, what's your damage?

I hope that potentially eroding down someone's mental health gave you the thrill of your life. You may not realize this, but the people you "expose" don't even have a say or a side of the story. They are either rejected the opportunity to speak or they feel that they aren't feeling a need to speak due to the fear that the public will push the truth away as lies or they feel threatened.

I can't believe that I still live a society that hasn't figured out that these toxic behaviours put our mental health, confidentiality and dignity in jeopardy. As for those who gossip and or enjoy watching other's get let down by this society, I hope you all still enjoy it, knowing that their downfall is on your hands.

If you found this article interesting, you can watch Heathers: High School is a Black Comedy or How Booksmart Subverts Teen Stereotypes | Video Essay or GOSSIP GIRL (2021) - 1x01 'JUST ANOTHER GIRL ON THE MTA' REACTION (1/2) , even all links if you somehow still have the energy. (which at this point I know is non-existent at best).


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page